A Neophyte at 52

The Kraken roller coaster ride at Seaworld in .

The Kraken roller coaster ride at Seaworld in . (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yep that’s me. Got married at 38, tried to have a baby after, was not successful and decided with the hubby to adopt a baby boy ten years after. Sounds so simple isn’t it? Only in print.  I knew I was in for a roller coaster ride.  I closed my eyes, crossed my fingers and went for it!

So here  I am five years later– mother-wise, exhausted yet having fun. How is that possible? Only motherhood can give you so many ironic twists and contradictions.

Who is the source of all this? Joshua. A bit small for his age yet packs an energy equivalent to Typhoon signal number 3 ( the strongest one in our part of the world). A future girls’ crush with his thick eyelashes, bushy eyebrows and nice set of even teeth.

But girls are not yet in his radar. He lives and breathes PSP 3, a gadget which I do not like for he can be obsessed with it. And yet it is the perfect babysitter for a busy stay at home Mom like me. Didn’t I tell you about the contradictions?

Well, I am still learning being a mother. Who says you can’t teach an old dog new tricks? Whoever said that is a pessimist for sure.

Leave a Reply

