I wear my pajamas the whole day

I decided to work from home in 2003. Some of my former  colleagues advised me that it was not a wise move.  I need to have a regular source of income, they said. I will be bored, they warned. I will end  up wearing my pajamas the whole day while working in front of my computer. This one came from a fashionista friend who joked, ” But, of course, you are only allowed to do this if your pj’s is a Natori.”

Being a woman, I let intuition took over my decision  to quit my 9 to 5 job. Throughout my career, I worked beyond those hours. I had to travel out-of-town even during weekends. I burned the midnight oil  with the creative department to pitch for  lucrative accounts. I managed with  the accounts team countless product launches, sales conferences and press interviews. The ride was amazing and a workaholic’s dream.

In my early 40s, I had a ” stop the world, I want  to get off” kind of epiphany. It came like a whisper, niggling me, until I could no longer ignore its siren call. Is this all there is to it? I asked myself. I was burned out from doing public relations and events management work. I took the plunge and for the first time in 23 years I was out of the corporate world. I did not have a plan on what work I will do at home. But in my gut I knew I will be fine partly because I had the support of my husband.

During the first year, I literally had time to breathe. I would wake up early in the morning, smell the air  while doing my stretching exercises. I also had leisurely lunches with my precious friends.Some of them envied me for they say I am no longer a corporate slave. Eventually former clients got wind of my ” no work” status and began hiring me as a free-lance writer. By accident, I also dabbled with wedding coordination services after helping out a cousin plan her wedding. Other part-time event coordination projects managed to come my way.  For a time, I even put up a corporate gifts and novelty business with my best friend. It did not last long but I had fun along the way. My income now cannot be compared with what I used to earn as a middle-level executive. But it is enough to keep my body nourished and my soul happy.

 I will soon tackle some writing projects  that were temporarily shelved these past two years. I am nervous on the demand it will put on my time yet I am so excited to see it come to life. I guess this would means lots of  laptop work while wearing my favorite pajamas. 

2 thoughts on “I wear my pajamas the whole day

Leave a Reply

